Department of Economics

Rajapalayam Rajus’ College was established on 20th June 1973 at the Pudhupalayam chatram building, located on the madurai courtallam road, Rajapalayam with pre university classes. The college was started with a strength 237 boys. Thiru. R. Dhamodaran MA., was appointed as Lecturer in the Department of Economics, on 22-6-1973. The result in the first batch 1973-74, in Economics was 91.48 percentage. B.Com degree course was started in the year 1975-76. B.A., (History) was started in the year 1977-78. Thiru. V. Vijayaraghavan M.A., was appointed as Assitant Professor of Economics on 28-07-75. Thiru. V. Vijayaraghavan went on migration to. M.T.N. College, Madurai on 2-12-1981. B.Com Self Finance course was started in the year 1994. Thiru R. Dhamodharan, M.A., retired from service on 31-01-2001. Mr. S. Suresh Kumar, M.A., was appointed as Lecture on 31-01-2001 (P.T.A) appointment. There were 158 students on the roll during the year. Mr. S. Suresh Kumar has handled the subjects Managerial Economics and Economics Development of India for B.Com (Both for regular and self finance) and General Economics for B.A degree course. The department of Economics organizes seminars every year on “BUDGET ANALYSIS”. This is usually conducted following the year’s budget announcement/ Moreover the Department also conducts seminars function “PLANNING FORUM” and thereby invites eminent personalities to deliver’ the lectures to enlighten the student community. The remedial classes are being conducted for the students who have failed in the subject Economics. MR. S. CHIDAMBARANATHAN was appointed as a Lecturer in Economics on 3-12-2007. His educational qualification is M.A., M.Phil., B.Ed., He registered for his Ph.D in Economics at the school of Economics, Madurai Kamaraj University in the year 2009 and the public viva-voce for PhD was held on 20th June 2013.